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Introduction

Dear friends,

The FIDE Arbiters. Commission has the pleasure to publish the third issue of
the Arbiters. Magazine.

We continue our effort to provide the Arbiters all over the World with the
necessary knowledge and information coming from real incidents happened
during fournaments and thus making them better in exercising their duties.

We would like again to invite the Arbiters, the players, the Officials and all
chess people to send us their comments, opinions, ideas and cases that have
come to their knowledge and are worth publishing in the Magazine.

Athens, 8th August 2016
Takis Nikolopoulos
Chairman
FIDE Arbiters Commission



2016 ARBITERS AWARDS

The FIDE Arbiters. Commission has the pleasure of announcing the recipients of
the 2016 Arbiters. Awards.

The requirements to be considered for these awards were:

a) to have obtained the IA title prior to 1981 (35 years of service as an |A)

b) to have worked as an Arbiter in at least three (3) major FIDE events
(for example: Olympiads, World Championships)

The list of recipients of the 2016 Arbiters. Awards (in alphabetical order):

- DREPANIOTIS, Panagiotis (GREECE) (IA tfitle awarded in 1980)

- GASANOQV, Faik (AZERBAIJAN) (IA title awarded in 1980)
- GIJSSEN, Geurt (NETHERLANDS) (IA title awarded in 1979)
- KAMESWARAN, V. (INDIA) (IA title awarded in 1980)
- LOBANOQV, Yuri (RUSSIA) (IA title awarded in 1979)
- MELIKSTET-BEK, Evgeny (GEORGIA)  (IA title awarded in 1979)
- VEGA, Jorge (GUATEMALA) (IA tfitle awarded in 1979)
- WELCH, David (ENGLAND) (IA title awarded in 1977)
- ZARIC, Borivoje (SERBIA) (IA title awarded in 1970)

The Awards Ceremony will take place during the General Assembly of the 2016
Baku FIDE Congress.

Takis Nikolopoulos
Chairman
FIDE Arbiters. Commission
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Case A — No “Dropped Piece” Rule

This is a very significant case, because quite simply, Arbiters from different regions
of the world are still ruling differently on the exact same situations.

- H 0
M arch 2016, National Chess Championship. ,. . . ‘
See the diagram. ) z . . . ‘ .
Black far ahead K+R+2P vs. K+3P! Black R captures ,. . . .
hanging White P, presses clock, and R falls over. Arbiters
declare Black to be forfeited, even referencing the FIDE « & . . . n
“Dropped Piece” rule: which simply does not exist!
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Example 2:

14th June 2016, Maharashtra Chess League 2016, India GM Abhijeet Gupta vs. S.P. Sethuraman
(Armageddon time controls) White is winning, moves Queen, presses clock, and his Queen falls
over.

The league has a “dropped piece” rule that declares White to be forfeited.

Piecgdrop helps TruMasters to qualify!

1

GM Gupta has just made his move 46.Qxa6, and the white queen is not steady!
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Piece drop helps TruMasters to qualify!

{

P »l o) 637/716

GM Gupta has just made his move 46.Qxa6, and the white queen is not steady!

The primary rule to apply in such situations is 7.4 (rule A.4.b is NOT applicable)

7.4  If a player displaces one or more pieces, he shall re-establish the correct position in his own
time. If necessary, either the player or his opponent shall stop the chess clock and ask for the arbiter’s
assistance. The arbiter may penalise the player who displaced the pieces.

Article A.4.b (from Rapidplay Appendix A) is regarding illegal moves. BUT, displaced pieces, as cov-
ered in Article 7.4 above, are NOT illegal moves.

Now, there are Arbiters and Organizers that likely feel that they need some kind of “Dropped Piece”
rule in order to maintain control of games played at faster time controls. However, the controlling
mechanism is built right into 7.4:

“The arbiter may penalise the player who displaced the pieces.”

All leagues and tournaments are encouraged, upon the first occurrence of a dropped
piece, to apply time penalties, as per 12.9 (for example: “b. increasing the remaining time
of the opponent”). Forfeiture can be applied subsequently.
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Case B - lllegal Move Irregularities

ne of the notable changes to the Laws of Chess as of 1st July 2014, is within Article 7: Irregu-

larities, specifically regarding illegal moves. Under the old Article 7.4.b before July 2014, a player
would be forfeited as of their third illegal move. However, under the new Article 7.5.b since then, a
player is forfeited as of only their second illegal move. This increases the importance to rule appro-
priately.

We have received emails from Arbiters around the world, many with questions regarding illegal
moves. Several of the cases in this third issue of the Arbiters’ magazine include incidents involving
illegal moves. Arbiters are encouraged to continue reporting their own special situations and/or ask
for clarifications.

Here is a handy list of points for Arbiters to remember regarding illegal moves:

- as of July 2014, the Arbiter is NOT OBLIGED to adjust the clock times after restoring to a pre-
vious position, if he/she thinks it is not necessary (new text: “the arbiter shall use his best
judgement to determine the times to be shown on the chess clock. This includes the right not
to change the clock times.”)

- “If the player has moved a pawn to the furthest distant rank, pressed the clock, but not replaced
the pawn with a new piece, the move is illegal. The pawn shall be replaced by a queen of the
same colour as the pawn.”

Example: Black moves Pawn to el, then presses clock.

- Itis a common misconception in both Rapidplay and Blitz, that in all cases, that an illegal move
results in forfeit. However, this is true only when Competition Rules are not in effect, which re-
quire these specific conditions:
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Rapidplay: A.3 The Competition Rules shall apply if

a. one arbiter supervises at most three games and
b. each game is recorded by the arbiter or his assistant and, if possible, by electronic means.

Blitz: B.3 The Competition Rules shall apply if

a. one arbiter supervises one game and
b. each game is recorded by the arbiter or his assistant and, if possible, by electronic means.

- The time penalty for an illegal move in Standard/Rapidplay (when Competition Rules still
apply) is 2 minutes. However, the time penalty for an illegal move in Blitz (when Competition
Rules still apply), is only 1 minute.

- Please remember that displaced pieces are NOT illegal moves!




Case C — Promotion Irregularities

P romotion occurs relatively infrequently, and as a result, Arbiters sometimes are not quite sure of
any special rules that would apply just to promotion.

However, because promotions often represent critical points in games, it is important to know
these special rules, some which we may not see for years.

Here is a handy list of points for Arbiters to remember regarding promotion:

- There are multiple ways to perform promotion. For example, the pawn does not actually have
to be placed on the promotion square. In addition, it is acceptable to first remove the pawn
from the seventh rank, and to then place the new promoted piece on the eighth rank, or to
perform these steps in the opposite order. Please note it is incorrect to rule either order an il-
legal move.

- However, “If the player has moved a pawn to the furthest distant rank, pressed the clock, but
not replaced the pawn with a new piece, the move is illegal. The pawn shall be replaced by
a queen of the same colour as the pawn.”

- Regardless of the order in which promotion actions are performed, the choice of the new pro-
moted piece is finalized when it touches the promotion square. Therefore, NOT when the
new promoted piece was touched by the player, nor even if/when the new promoted piece is
named by the player.
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Example from 2016 North American Youth Chess Championship

- Under time pressure, White moves Pawn to f8
- White touches Queen, but realizes it would be stalemate
- White then places Rook on f8 and presses the clock: this winning move was legal!

- As with any move, when the new promoted piece has been released on the promotion square,
“it cannot be moved to another square on this move.”

An upside-down rook is not a queen, it is just a rook placed upside-down! This is NOT
considered as an illegal move. In such a case, the Arbiter should intervene to inform
the players that they must consider this piece to be a rook.
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Case D — Board and Clock Placements

M any Arbiters send us interesting emails, sometimes with questions, sometimes to submit unique
situations for our consideration. Sometimes, Arbiters find very funny things that we can learn
from. For example, look at the following video:

https://www.facebook.com/groups/106125710341/permalink/10153910567500342/
and at Jack Puccini’s April 16th post entitled “Weekly shenanigans at allegro”

Whereas the video is immediately quite amusing, it also highlights a significant organizational mis-
take, in that the clock is basically just facing the nearby wall.

Particularly older players will insist that they can place the board any direction they want, that they
can put the clock anywhere (for example, either Black or the first player arriving decides). None of
this is true. It hasn’t been for years!

6.5 Before the start of the game the arbiter
shall decide where the chess clock is placed.

For individual competitions, Arbiters normally decide to place the clock on the right-hand side of
the player with the Black pieces. The idea is to consistently place the boards and clocks in such a
way to facilitate the Arbiters being able to check at once as many clocks as possible. In addition,
having all pieces going in the same directions can also help during scrambles for extra promotion
pieces.

In team competitions, the members of each team normally sit in a row. Their piece colors are al-
ternated, but the clocks should all face the same direction.

Beware that in team competitions, it is actually surprisingly common for even high-level
players to accidentally press the clock of a neighbouring board!
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Case E — Visually Handicapped Cheating

N orway banned a visually handicapped man for 2 years, not only as a player, but also from holding
any chess position (he was deputy leader of a chess club).

The visually handicapped man, who admitted to having been previously banned for doping in
power-lifting, has actually claimed that: “I haven’'t cheated consciously”

The visually handicapped man (left) at Norwegian Championship, July 2015

The cheating method was simply an electronic earpiece that was actually a Bluetooth device. This
was not noticed until the player had posted consecutive tournament results that were astronomically
better than before. He scored only 50% at novice level, but then within a year, while still unrated he
won a rated section 8/9, and then again scored 8/9 with a performance rating near FM-level.

These 18 games were fully analyzed, and he was caught with continuously high correlations to
chess engines, especially Rybka. Therefore, he was asked to take chess testing. At first, he accepted,
“naked if necessary”, but then he eventually declined, saying that he has stopped studying, and that
his abilities have thus dropped off dramatically. All of these games have since been adjudged lost.



World ess Federation DE _Arpiters Commission

The visually handicapped man (right), with assistant, at Norwegian Championship, July 2015.

Arbiters must notice when players (even the handicapped) are carrying devices
(in this example, earpieces) that are normally forbidden. And forbid them!
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Case F — “J’adoube” leads to resignation

his case is from the 2016 World Amateur Chess Championship, held at Halkidiki in Greece, during
April 18th-28th, 2016.

It is the turn of Player A. Player A announces “touché”, then adjusts a pawn of Player B. Player B
tells Player A that since he did not say “jadoube”, he must capture the pawn. Player A will lose if he
takes the pawn, so he resigns. The players sign the scoresheets, and after about a quarter of an
hour, both players ask to consult with an arbiter. The arbiter explains that intention to adjust a piece
can be expressed in any language, and therefore that Player B was not correct. As a result, the player
Athen offered a draw, but the arbiter explains that since the game has already ended, the result can-
not be changed.

What can we confirm and learn from this case?!

1) Asper4.2: “... only the player having the move may adjust one or more pieces
on their squares.”

2) There is no specific language restriction for expressing intention to adjust. As per 4.2
again, the specific term “j’adoube” is just an example, like “l adjust”.

3) Asper5.1.b: “The game is won by the player whose opponent declares he resigns.
This immediately ends the game.” Note that even if the players had
not yet signed the scoresheets, the game had still already ended.

The arbiter was correct with all of the interpretations applicable to this case.

The players should have summoned the Arbiter before resigning and signing their
scoresheets. Only then, the Arbiter could have decided that the game be continued,
with Player A having the right to make any legal move.
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Case G — Aronian-Nakamura
from 2016 Candidates tournament

his case is from the game L. Aronian (Armenia) - H. Nakamura (USA) that was played during the
6th round of the 2016 Candidates Tournament, in Moscow.
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This rook ending is not yet clearly lost for Black (unless he doesn’t move his rook next!) - but on
move 74 after over 6.5 hours of game, the American player suddenly did this:

Nakamura clearly touches and holds his King, and then lets it go, without saying anything. Aronian
of course noticed it and immediately called the Chief Arbiter IA Werner Stubenvoll from Austria. The
Chief Arbiter confirmed that according to the Laws of Chess (article 4.3.a) Nakamura had to make a
move with the touched piece (King).

The Arbiter’s attentiveness is critical!

Arbiters always must be very careful and stay attentive in order to see that
the Laws of Chess are strictly observed and to ensure fairness,
according to the articles 12.1 and 12.2. (a) of the Laws of Chess!
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