The FIDE Arbiters’ Commission has the pleasure to announce the nominees of the 2018 Arbiters’ Awards.

The requirements for the Arbiters to be awarded were:

(a). to have obtained the IA title in 1983 or before 1983 (35 years of service as an IA)

(b). to have worked as an Arbiter in at least three (3) FIDE Major Events (Olympiads, World Championships).
The Arbiters to be awarded are (in alphabetical order):

IA Averbakh, Yuri (RUS) (IA title obtained 1969)

IA Cherif, Khemaies (TUN) (IA title obtained 1978)

IA Ghalayni, Emad (PLE) (IA title obtained 1982)

IA Krause, Christian (GER) (IA title obtained 1983)

IA Mejia, Julio Ernesto (COL) (IA title obtained 1974)

IA Schuering, Arthur Albert (NED) (IA title obtained 1979)

IA Shorek, Mordechai (ISR) (IA title obtained 1983)

IA Xu, Jialiang (CHN) (IA title obtained 1981)

The Awards Ceremony will take place during the General Assembly of the 2018 Batumi FIDE Congress (4 October 2018, 10.00 am) and the awarded Arbiters, or their representatives, are kindly requested to be present, in order to receive their awards.

Takis Nikolopoulos
FIDE Arbiters’ Commission