The FIDE Arbiters’ Commission has the pleasure to announce the 2014 Arbiters’ Award.

The requirements for the Arbiters to be awarded were:

(a). to have obtained the IA title before 1979 (35 years of service as an IA)

(b). to have worked as an Arbiter in at least three (3) FIDE major events (Olympiads, World Championships, etc.).

The Arbiters to be awarded are:

-KADRI, Sadok (TUNISIA) (IA title awarded in 1973)

-BERRY, Jonathan (CANADA) (IA title awarded in 1975)

-REUBEN, Stewart (ENGLAND) (IA title awarded in 1976)

-BURSTEIN, Almog (ISRAEL) (IA title awarded in 1977)

-KHACHATRYAN, Aljosha (ARMENIA) (IA title awarded in 1977)

-SALOOR, Hossein Gholi (IRAN) (IA title awarded in 1977)

-ABUNDO, Casto (PHILIPPINES) (IA title awarded in 1978)

-WALSH, Gerry (ENGLAND) (IA title awarded in 1978)

The Awards Ceremony will take place during the Arbiters’ Commission Meeting of the Tromso FIDE Congress (7 August 2014, 09:00-13:00, Radisson Hotel ) and the awarded Arbiters, or their representatives, are kindly requested to be present, in order to receive their awards.

Takis Nikolopoulos


FIDE Arbiters’ Commission