The 1st Quarter of 2012 FIDE Presidential Board that was held in Al Ain (UAE), decided to introduce Awards for Arbiters, referring to their long service as officials in major FIDE events (Long Service Meritorious Awards).

The requirements for an Arbiter to be awarded were to have obtained the IA title before 1975 and to have worked in FIDE major events at least three (3) times.

The FIDE Arbiters’ Commission is pleased to announce the first FIDE Arbiters’ Awards for 2012.

The awarded Arbiters are:

Yuri     Averbakh (RUS) (IA title 1969)

Lembit Vahesaar (EST) (IA title 1969)

Philip   Haley (CAN) (IA title 1973)

Zvi Bar- Shira (ISR) (IA title 1974)

The Awards Ceremony will take place during the Closing Ceremony of the General Assembly of the Istanbul FIDE Congress (09.09.2012) and the awarded Arbiters or their representatives are kindly requested to be present, in order to receive their awards.